History of Michigan's tax on Cigarettes

• Pre-1994: 25 cents a pack

• Pre-1994: 25 cents a pack • 1994: 75 cents a pack • 2002: $1.25 a pack • 2004-today: $2 a pack, tied for fourth-highest in the nation with five other states. Rules for smokers (22% of Michigan adults) It is illegal to: • Possess, import or sell Cigarettes not taxed in Michigan. (Licensed wholesalers can buy Cigarettes outside of Michigan, but must affix a state stamp on each pack). • Buy untaxed Cigarettes over the Internet. Penalties: Importing 15 cartons or More is a potential 5-year felony and $50,000 fine. Bringing in less than 15 cartons is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $1,000 or five times the retail value of the Cigarettes, whichever is More. Making or using counterfeit tobacco stamps is a possible 10-year, $50,000-fine felony. Back taxes: Since February 2005, the state has collected about $19 million in back taxes from Internet sales. Sources: Citizens Research Council of Michigan, Michigan Department of Treasury, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

CIGARETTE NEWS

We are happy to welcome you to Tobacco Daily News. We invite people from all over the world to read more tobacco related topics about online cigarettes sales and especially all fresh information related to our site.
See all cigarettes news...

Payment

Temporary only Visa cards are accepted as payment at our internet store.
Smoke4Sale.Com

Warning

To buy at smoke4sale.com you must be 21 years of age or older
Smoke4Sale.Com